Saturday, August 17, 2013

My Ever-Growing TBR 8/17/2013

Enthroned: King Arthur and Her KnightsWhat if King Arthur was a GIRL??? Seriously, the premise of this (spotted on the kindle freebie last week) put this book on my kindle and my To Read immediately.

Enthroned by K.M. Shea. After posing with a rusty sword for a photo in a British graveyard, Britt Arthurs is pulled through time all the way back to the age of King Arthur where the shockingly young and handsome Merlin is waiting for her. The wizard has some bad news: the real Arthur has run off with a shepherdess, and whoever pulls the sword from the stone is to become the King of England. Unfortunately for Britt, the sword slides out like butter when she pulls it after fighting with Merlin. Long Live King Arthurs!


This one was also free and the cover grabbed me at first, but after reading the blurb, I was curious enough to download it.

Forgetting Tabitha the Story of an Orphan Train Rider
Forgetting Tabitha the Story of an Orphan Train Ride rby Julie Dewey. Raised on a farm outside of West Chester County, Tabitha Salt, the daughter of Irish immigrants, leads a sheltered existence. When tragedy strikes the family, the ten year old and her mother are forced to move to the notorious Five Points District in New York City. Known for its brothels, gangs, gambling halls, corrupt politicians, and thieves, the Five Points is a chaotic slum. The women find work as laundresses, struggling every day to survive in their squalid living conditions.

When tragedy strikes again, Tabitha finds herself on the streets of New York City, alone. Summoning her courage and willing her legs that are numb with fear and grief to move, she takes to a life on the streets. Stealing food and running from the law, Tabitha dreams of the future.

During this time the Sisters of Charity were plucking orphans off the streets with promises of a new life. Children were told to forget their pasts, including their religious beliefs, families, and names. They were to become Christian and were given new identities, only then could they board the orphan trains. The orphan trains carried the destitute children out west in search of new homes. Siblings were often ripped apart and many didn’t find homes but became indentured workers in exchange for room and board. 

The looming decision would alter her life course; boarding the train meant leaving everything and everyone she knew behind. Vulnerable and afraid she made her decision.


Baghdad SolitaireSpotted on Netgalley and intrigued me enough to request it: Baghdad Solitaire by Leslie Cockburn.

Baghdad Solitaire is a first novel about Iraq after the fall of Saddam Hussein, where love and friendship are as uncertain as the shifting battle lines of the civil war. Lee McGuinness, a trauma surgeon on a humanitarian mission, is also on a personal quest: to find her companion-in-arms, Martin Carrigan, who has disappeared under mysterious circumstances. In search of someone—and something— to believe in, Lee must navigate a wilderness of mirrors in which greed, lies, and brutality are found among allies and enemies alike. In the tradition of Graham Greene and Robert Stone, Leslie Cockburn has written a haunting novel of intrigue and romance set in a deadly world of deception.


The Melody of Secrets by Jeffrey Stepakoff  
caught my interest on Netgalley because of the references to the space program and well, it sounds like a Humphrey Bogart movie I enjoyed called Chain Lightning.

The Melody of Secrets

No comments:

Post a Comment